FREE LIVE WEBINAR

Understanding Focus Skills:
The Game-Changer for
Instructional Planning

January 19, 2017
11:00 AM  PST / 1:00 PM CST / 2:00 PM EST / 7:00 PM London

 


With so many skills to teach and so little time, where should educators focus their efforts for optimal student growth? Research shows that certain skills lay the foundations for future learning, making them essential and non-negotiable. These are focus skills.

Join this free live webinar for valuable insights from international content experts who have analyzed various standards sets from key U.S. states and England and identified their focus skills. You'll learn:  

  • What focus skills are
  • How math and reading focus skills were identified by Renaissance
  • How educators can identify them in other subject areas
  • Where they appear in Renaissance products
  • How teachers can use an understanding of focus skills to optimize instructional planning

Presenters: 

Gene Kerns

Gene Kerns, Ed.D., is Vice President and Chief Academic Officer at Renaissance and a nationally acclaimed speaker on learning progressions, K12 assessments, and educational standards in the U.S. and U.K. He is the author of Informative Assessment: When It's Not About a Grade.

James Bell

James Bell is the Director of Professional Services for Renaissance in the United Kingdom and is based in London. He was closely involved in the outstanding work carried out in producing the learning progressions for UK schools by the National Federation for Educational Research (NFER), the UK's largest independent provider of research, assessment, and information services for education, training, and children's services in London. 

Julianne Robar

Julianne Robar is the content program manager for Renaissance, leading the development of the 50 state learning progressions, alignment strategy, and the mapping of the Renaissance Universal Skills Pool for precise data flow. She has been with Renaissance for over 15 years and holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Education.